Predici si cuvantari audio

Projects of the monastery

Saints of the day

Newsletter Manastirea Partos

The early history of this town is lost in the mists of time. Material discoveries made during trenching of the Bârzava river talk about age of the settlement.

The village is first mentioned in 1333, in a papal taxes register - work drawn up the Diocese of Cenad for the 1300-1335 period. Partoș shows up here with the name PARTHAS, between Timiș și Bârzava. This confirms that Partoș was on the right side of the Bârzava, its place today being a result of a subsequent move. The town is also mentioned in the nobiliary documents from the following centuries.

Turkish rule brought a significant decline for village, fact proven by the 1717 Census, when the village of Partoș was found with 18 houses and ranged between inhabited villages.

In the 18th century, Partoş, along with neighboring localities, was part of the property of the Draskovics family, noble family, originally from Slovenia, property later purchased by the Karacsonyi family. The 18th century is also the periond when the village gathered around the monastery, providential fact since in 1777, when the old Partoş monastery was closed by the Habsburg regime, the village takes over the two churches and cares for them. Slowly a parish is organized here.

In more recent times, in 1935, most of the Karacsonyi castle property, which Partoş was a part of, was bought and it passed into the possession of the former Queen Elizabeth of Greece, until the abolition of the monarchy.

Partoş village functioned at a time as a center of villages region, having under its jurisdiction the village of Topolea. It had a nice community center and a spacious and smart school.

At this moment the village population is decreasing compared to previous years; besides the Romanian majority population, there is a small Hungarian community, and some gipsy families.

The reestablishment of the monastery in 2008 meant a time of revival for the village. changed in many respects thanks to this unique and extraordinary symbiosis that exists between him and the monastery. Its life changed in many respects thanks to this unique and extraordinary symbiosis that exists between itself and the monastery. The history of this blessed place is marked by this link, and the further development of life here must be thought always starting from this connection.

The monastery is the heart and wealth of the town, and the town is the blanket or the home the monastery need to look after.